Hôtel-Dieu de Coeffort
Former "Plantagenet" west Gothic ward.
The Hôtel-Dieu de Coëffort was built in the 12th century on the orders of Henry II Plantagenet, King of England, to house the poor, the sick, abandoned children and pilgrims. The somewhat massive, undecorated exterior in fact conceals a work of great finesse. There are also some beautiful paintings to discover.The church is open for services and guided tours. A site well worth a visit during your stay in Le Mans or the Sarthe.
In 1953, the "Coëffort treasure", made up of 31 pieces of medieval silverware, was found during renovation work on the church. This very simple silverware was used by the hospital brotherhood of the Hôtel-Dieu Coëffort (Place Washington) in the 14th and 15th centuries, when it was probably buried to protect it from the English. The treasure is currently on display at the Carré Plantagenêt, Le Mans' museum of archaeology and history.
Contact
Eglise Sainte-Jeanne d'Arc Place George Washington
72000 LE MANS
FRANCE
72000 LE MANS
FRANCE
Practical information
Site theme
Church
Site category
Registered and listed sites
Architectural style of the site
Gothic
Medieval
Access to the free site
Yes
Access map, location
SNCF train station : 0.7 km
Bus station : 0.7 km
Public transport : 0 km
Spoken language
English
French
Further information
Groups accepted
Pets not allowed
Visible point of interest without tour